2017 Championship Recap

Indianapolis, USA –    The checkered flag waved on the Inaugural North American Formula 1000 Championship season with the final round from historic Indianapolis Motor Speedway officially in the record books.   


After 11 exciting rounds of wheel to wheel action, Alex Mayer drove the #77 Technotecs – Mayer Motorsports – JDR to a commanding championship win, and a big $2,000 cash prize.    After 8 consecutive race wins, Mayer not only ensured his drivers championship, but the manufacturers title for JDR RaceCars as well.  

Throughout the season, the extremely tight battle for second place delighted fans, with Tim Pierce in the #18 Waterfall Security Solutions – Area 81 Racing – Firman, and Jason Slahor in the #9 Slahor Racing – Citation trading podium steps on a regular basis.   In the end, Pierce earned second place in the inaugural championship over Slahor by only half a point!  The old adage proving true, every point counts, as half a point was the difference of $500 as Pierce takes home $1500 for second place.  

Proving the NorthAmF1000 championship points system rewards drivers who participate in all races, Steve Hamilton in his #93 CSI Leasing / EPCusa.com – JDR and Mike Meyers in his #111 Philly Motorsports – DBF1000 rounded out the top five.  Meyers overcame a 50 point deficit in only three races to claim the fifth spot, and $500 cash, after sixth and seventh in the 2017 championship, #2 Zane Gibbs, and #33 Charles Livingston scored no points in the final three rounds, and still take home $250 each.  

The Inaugural season of the North American Formula 1000 Championship showcased great wheel to wheel racing, gave tens of thousands of fans amazing sounds from the screaming 1000cc SuperBike engines, and rewarded drivers with over $20,000 in CASH payouts.   

Thanks to ever increasing car counts, amazing partners, sponsors, and supporters, the Inaugural season of North American Formula 1000 Championship presented by American Racer Tire was a huge success.   The 2018 season looks to be even more exciting, with more tracks, more drivers, more cars, and even more CASH paid out to every driver!

North American Formula 1000 Championship
2017 Championship Results

  1. #77 Alex Mayer
  2. #18  Tim Pierce 
  3. #9 Jason Slahor 
  4. #93 Steve Hamilton 
  5. #111 Mike Meyers
  6. #2  Zane Gibbs 
  7. #33 Charles Livingston
  8. #31 Dave O’Leary
  9. #81 Richard Franklin 
  10. #14 Jose Gerardo
  11.  #1  Kevin Boeckle 
  12.  #68 Thomas Copeland
  13.  #43 Shane Prieto 
  14. #13 Doug Hertz 

For more information about Alex, Tim, Jason, and all the 2017  NorthAmF1000 Championship competitors, visit the NorthAmF1000 Drivers Bio Page.

Leave a Reply